General Information

Learning the laws regulating the use of firearms is a must for responsible ownership. Local regulations differ and laws vary from state to state. Citizens must check with the jurisdiction where the firearm is to be used.

The Sheriff and his staff are required to follow strict state guidelines when performing the necessary background checks for a License to Carry a Concealed Handgun (CHL) application. Due to the nature of the detailed due diligence, appointment times and processing times can take multiple weeks. During the application process, you will be asked to schedule an appointment (for New and Renewal CHL). Please note that you will be asked to pay now to reserve your appointment.

The applicant must be a resident of Highland County (or an adjoining county: Adams, Brown, Clinton, Fayette, Pike, and Ross).

  • For Replacement or Change Of Address/Name Applicants - your current permit must be issued by Highland County.  We cannot issue replacements for permits issued by other counties.
  • Any concealed carry that is new or a renewal. If you are former military with a HONORABLE discharge, you MUST provide your DD214 form in our office, Your character of service must say Honorable only. Your VA card will not suffice in this matter, it must be the DD214 form!

 

Pricing:

Type of Permit Fee

Original License Ohio Resident For 5 Years

$67.00

Original License (has not lived in OH for the last 5 years)

$77.00
Renewal License $50.00
Renewal License (has not lived in OH for the last 5 years) $60.00
Replacement License for Name/Address Change: $15.00
Replacement for Lost or Stolen License: $15.00
  • For credit card transactions a nominal credit card transaction fee will be charged for each transaction. Charges will be viewable prior to transaction completion.
  • Fingerprinting is required for an new and renewal Concealed Handgun Permit and will be done at your CHL appointment you set during the online application submission. Appointments for fingerprinting are available 8:00am to 3:30pm, Monday to Friday, excluding legal holidays
  • Click the appropriate button on the left of the screen to proceed with an application for a Weapons Permit.

 

Please note that this website is optimized for IE 9.0 and higher, Safari, Chrome and Firefox.

License to Carry a Concealed Handgun Information



Ohio License to Carry a Concealed Handgun Requirements: must meet ALL requirements

Qualifying/Disqualifying Factors: 

With regard to the State of Ohio Application for License to Carry a Concealed Handgun, it is the intention of the Ohio Legislature that this law (RC 2923.125) is compliant with the National Instant Criminal Background check system. This system of checks contains disqualifiers not specifically enumerated in Section Ill and/or IV of the license Application. 

If a disqualifier is found. your application will be denied. 

Age: 21 years or older 

Residency: Legal Resident of United States & Ohio resident in county of application or adjoining county, or resident of another state employed in in county of application or adjoining county (employment proof required; current paystub or employer letter). 

Training: Completion of an 8 hour (or more) certified firearm program (must present certificate with application within 3 years of course completion) UNLESS waived because by previous military experience(Weapons Qualification, AF522). Presenting a DD214 with an “Honorable” discharge, a military retirement ID or proof of active duty will qualify an applicant for a free CCW permit under Senate Bill 81. For retired law enforcement, proof of retirement credentials are required. 

DISQUALIFYING Criminal History/Legal Background. 

PENDING Indictment or Criminal charges for: 

  • Any FELONY offense
  • Any DRUG offense (except for Minor Misdemeanor drug possession or Minor Misdemeanor Drug Paraphernalia offenses outside of 1 year from conviction date)
  • Any Misdemeanor of Violence (Assault, Aggravated Menacing, Menacing by Stalking, Menacing, Inciting Violence, Riot, Inducing Panic, Domestic Violence, Corrupting Another with Drugs, Negligent Homicide, Sexual Imposition, Unlawful Restraint, and Unlawful Sexual Conduct with a Minor)
  • Negligent Assault or Falsifying Concealed Carry application/having revoked CCW license
  • Including complicity, or attempt to commit any of the above offenses

An active SUSPENSION of an Ohio concealed carry license (or a concealed carry license of another state)

CONVICTIONS/JUVENILE ADJUDICATIONS (no time limit - ANYTIME in the past): 

Any FELONY offense

  • Any DRUG offense (except for Minor Misdemeanor drug possession or Minor Misdemeanor Drug Paraphernalia outside of 1 year from conviction)
  • Assault on Police Officer
  • A conviction for Domestic Violence or a guilty or no contest plea to a lesser charge in which physical force was present
  • Including complicity, or attempt to commit any of the above offenses

CONVICTIONS/JUVENILE ADJUDICATIONS (within past ONE year):

Minor Misdemeanor drug possession or Minor Misdemeanor Drug Paraphernalia 

CONVICTIONS/JUVENILE ADJUDICATIONS (within past THREE years): 

  • Misdemeanor of VIOLENCE except RESISTING ARREST or ASSAULT ON POLICE OFFICER (See above and below for these offenses)
  • Falsifying Concealed Carry application/having revoked CCW license

CONVICTIONS/JUVENILE ADJUDICATIONS (within past FIVE years): 

  •  TWO or more CONVICTIONS/ADJUDICATIONS for Assault or Negligent Assault

CONVICTIONS/JUVENILE ADJUDICATIONS (within past TEN years): 

  • Resisting Arrest
  • Including complicity, or attempt to commit any of the above offenses

 

ACTIVE Protection Orders, Temporary Protection Order (TPO), or Protection Order from ANY State.

UNDER DISABILITY (ORC 2923.13): 

  • Fugitive From Justice, Drug Dependent, Adjudicated Mental Incompetence, Chronic Alcoholic.

"BRADY" Disqualification - Prior conviction for ANY Domestic Violence charge under ORC 2919.25 (or a similar offense from any other state).

 

All Applicants must provide the following:

  • Must bring in a valid drivers license or state Identification card (if renewing, old concealed carry license).
  • The address on the application MUST match the address on the drivers license\state ID card or the applicant must have the white card from the BMV stating you have updated your address with the BMV.
  • A competency certification that must have been issued within the 3 years immediately preceding the date of application (applicant must provide a copy of their training certificate).
  • An actual CCW license replaces a competency certification for renewals.
  • If renewing CCW and previous license is from another county, a copy of your training certificate would be appreciated.
  • A certification that the applicant has read the safety pamphlet produced by the Ohio Peace Officers Training Commission.

For More Information, Contact:

Highland County Sheriff's Office

130 Homestead Avenue
Hillsboro, Ohio 45133

Email: dbarrera@highlandcoso.com

 

For Technical Support, Contact:

Permitium Software
Email: help@permitium.com